Baja California State government announces scholarships for masters and Phd’s abroad

Baja California State government announces scholarships for masters and Phd’s abroad

Mar 25, 2016

The State Government through the Council for Science and Technological Innovation (COCITBC) and the National Science Council (CONACYT), offers 20 Graduate Scholarships to professionals from Baja California who wish to study master’s and PhDs abroad. This was announced by Alfredo Babún Villarreal, Head of the COCITBC, on March 10th, during a press conference.

The official said the State Development Plan 2014-2019 prompted by Governor Francisco Vega de Lamadrid is looking to prepare and train specialized scientific staff in order to boost regional competitiveness in the fields of research and development.

Scholarships comprehend strategic sectors such as Biotechnology, Health Sciences and Technologies, Social Science and Public Policy (Ph.D. only), Hydrocarbons and alternative energy sources, Mechatronics and advanced manufacturing, New materials and Nanotechnology and Information Technologies and telecommunications.

The scholarships include tuition at the elected University to an annual maximum of 300 thousand pesos and living expenses for the student according to the tab set by CONACYT, plus medical care  and aerial transportation.

babun villareal

Alfredo Babún Villarreal, Head of COCITBC (Photo: SEDECO)

COCIT Holder added that the invitation is open for all faculty members, graduates and researchers from every company, university and research center in the state of Baja California.

The deadline for entries is May 27 and the bases are available in; or those interested can send an email to the address:

The evaluation and selection process will be carried out by a team of renowned researchers and representatives of strategic sectors of SEDECO.

Babún Villarreal said that currently there are 6 individuals that took part of the last edition, of which 5 performed masters and one doctorate at the Universities of Granada, Spain; Cardiff in the United Kingdom; University of Technology in Eindhoven in the Netherlands; Higher Institute of Aeronautics and Space in France and the United States at San Diego State University and the School of Public Health of Colorado.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *